Minimum requirements for car insurance in PA

Do you know that a significant amount of drivers in Pennsylvania only carry the minimum amount that is required by the law which is $15,000.00? You may wonder how this affects you. If you are hit by an individual who only carries minimal Pennsylvania car insurance insurance and has no assets, the most that you can recover from that individual is $15,000.00 regardless of your injuries. Sound unfair? It is.

However, you can be protected. Insurance companies doing business in Pennsylvania must offer you Underinsured Motorist Coverage. This is coverage designed to compensate you or your family for injuries in excess of the amount of Pennsylvania car insurance carried by the driver that hits you. Do not reject this coverage. Insurance companies will also give you the option of lowering this coverage.

They may tell you it will lower your premium. Unless you believe firmly that there is absolutely no possibility of you or a loved one being involved in an automobile accident, then insured drivers would be wise to ignore the marginal cost-savings – it’s not worth the risk.

While this may be true, if you are hit by an under-insured driver, the amount of Underinsured Motorist Coverage that you carry is critical. If you reject the coverage or lower it, the only party that benefits is your insurance company in that it limits or eliminates the amount it will have to pay for your claim.

If you have been involved in an automobile collision and have questions concerning your rights, give us a call at 570.714.HURT for a free consultation. Remember the insurance companies are not your friends and they will try to settle your claim for as little as possible.

Share This:

With more than 40 years of combined experience, the personal injury attorneys at Fellerman & Ciarimboli strive to provide the best service to clients in Philadelphia, Northeast Pennsylvania, and throughout the Keystone State.

Search

Categories

Tags

Archives

Recent News

Call Now
Email Now
Back to Top